HAI Honors Our Industry’s Finest

The Helicopter Association International (HAI) announces the winners of the 2014 Salute to Excellence awards:

Sikorsky Humanitarian Service Award: Crew of Rescue 912, 103 Search and Rescue Squadron, Royal Canadian Air Force

Excellence in Helicopter Maintenance Award: Team Sharana, AAR Airlift Group – Afghanistan

AgustaWestland Safety Award: Christopher J. Horton, Manager of Flight Operations, Guidance Aviation

Airbus Helicopters Golden Hour Award: Howard L. Ragsdale, Senior Vice President, Business Development, Air Methods Corporation

W.A. “Dub” Blessing Award (Flight Instructor of the Year): Dr. Gordon Anthony Jiroux, h.c., President/CEO, Universal Helicopters, Inc.

Bell Helicopter Lifetime Achievement Award: W.M. “Archie” Gray, Senior Vice President, Aviation Services, Air Methods Corporation

MD Helicopters Law Enforcement Award: Chief Donald L. Shinnamon, Sr. (Ret.)

Excellence in Communications Award: Elan Head, Special Projects Editor, Vertical magazine

Pilot of the Year Award: Chuck Aaron, Chief Helicopter Pilot/Director of Maintenance, Red Bull, N.A.

The awards will be presented at the 53rd annual Salute to Excellence on Wednesday, Feb. 26, at the Anaheim Marriot, during HAI HELI-EXPO 2014.