PAMA Announces Three Awards for Excellence in Aviation Maintenance

The Professional Aviation Maintenance Association announces the 2009 Award Winners in recognition of their excellence in aviation maintenance and dedication to the aviation industry. The PAMA Awards Program recognizes the professionalism and dedication of the individual aviation maintenance professional and companies in the following award categories:

Award of Excellence

PAMA’s highest award, the Award of Excellence is reserved for those individuals or companies who have promoted the tenets of professionalism and integrity on behalf of the aviation maintenance technician, while exemplifying honor and diligence within the aviation community.

Joe Chase Award

The Joe Chase Award commemorates the late Joe Chase and honors an individual who has shown outstanding personal achievement in improving the knowledge, safety and dignity of the aircraft technician.

The late Joseph M. Chase was a maintenance technician who became the first director of what was then Flight Safety Foundation’s maintenance and equipment division and, in 1953, the first editor of the FSF Aviation Mechanics Bulletin. He remained in the job until his retirement in 1972. Flight Safety Foundation generously contributes a $1,000 cash award to the Joe Chase Award winner.

Chapter of the Year

The Chapter of the Year Award recognizes the overall best PAMA Chapter in categories of administration, membership growth and retention, scholarships awarded, and education.

The 2009 Award Winners are:

Joe Chase Award — Michael Broderick

PAMA Award of Excellence — Fabio Natal

PAMA Chapter of the Year Award — First State Chapter

The PAMA Awards were presented at the Northeast Regional Symposium opening reception on September 30th.